ISCaM2017 - 4th Annual Meeting - Cancer Metabolism - Bertinoro

Thursday, 19 October 2017 to Saturday, 21 October 2017

The 4th meeting of the International Society of Cancer Metabolism (ISCaM) will be held in Bertinoro, Italy, on 19-21 October 2017. ISCaM2017 will be focused in understanding and potentially manipulating cancer metabolism and microenvironment to enhance cancer diagnosis and monitoring or to suppress disease progression.

Rich discussions will take place after each scientific talk, where conference attendees will debate the ideas presented to foster dynamic scientific exchange. The program will provide opportunities for junior scientists, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students to present their work and exchange ideas with leaders in the field at all levels in basic, translational, and clinical research fields to brainstorm and promote collaborations.

The conference site, Bertinoro with its Italian medieval castle, will provide the perfect collegial atmosphere with programmed discussion sessions as well as opportunities for informal gatherings. All attendees are expected to interact and form an ongoing “ISCaM community” of scientists that move the frontier of the field forward. 

Conference Chairs
Sofia Avnet, Nicola Baldini

Around 50 oral communications of 15 minutes each will be given from the best abstracts submitted to the conferences on to the following themes:

  • General metabolism & metabolomics
  • pH dynamics and ion transporters/carriers in cancer
  • Microenvironment & Stroma
  • Autophagy
  • Metabolic control of epigenetics
  • Metabolic control of stemness & metastasis
  • Targeting mitochondria in cancer
  • Therapy
  • Imaging
  • Biomarkers

The remaining submitted abstracts will be revised for poster communications.

Conference chairs
Sofia Avnet, Nicola Baldini

ISCaM Board 
Pierre Sonveaux
Angelo De Milito
Paolo Porporato
Silvia Pastorekova
Angela M. Otto
Robert J. Gillies
Stine Falsig Pedersen
Claudiu Supuran

Scientific Board at large
Giuseppe Gasparre
Annamaria Porcelli
Monica Montopoli
Antonio Moschetta
Stephan J. Reshkin